Clown

He stood on the opposite side of the door

Just standing there

A clown in the hallway

Feeling squirmy and chilled with fear

I squeezed and lept back

“I ain’t goin’ near…” slipped as a whisper cause if it’d hear

I’d be over

As, just standing there was

A clown in the hallway

Lighter than down, I stepped on the adjacent tile of the kitchen

A slow frown spread quick at the sound of the metal sliding through the air,

Whooshing inches near my gown, slinging slowly and fair

Because

Just standing there was

A clown in the hallway

That stiffened smile sent chills down my spine

For its way too big to be honest

No one is that happy all of the time

Quick thinking through my mind to find the bravery stored deep in the freezer near fine

As, just standing there was

A clown in the hallway

Calling upon the same heavens I had mocked in the past

I approached the door steady and fast to startle and defeat the cause of my personal cast of nightmares

As, just standing there was
A clown in the hallway

A quick leap forward caused the glass to break as a knife doesn’t do too well against mirrors.

Leave a Reply

