Woe Is Me

Stuck in a dark place
deep, forested with totems from my past.
Guardians of a hell I’ve created looming the skies
like vultures, awaiting their assured feeding
from the pending death seeping from my pores.
Valor has abandoned its post, exchanged
for a lesser trait; a milksop.
Staggering across the uprooted
branches of the oaks sporadically placed
as a ploy for me to plummet,
shadows cast through the realms of fallen
clouds to ensure that I have not been isolated.
Company for my misery.

3 thoughts on “Woe Is Me

Leave a Reply

