Poverty Patterns

When you make it to college, let me know what its like,
because though I am smart, I can’t afford it.
When you’re hired at your dream job, let me know what its like,
because I don’t have the clothes to dress for it.
When you meet your soul mate, let me know what its like,
because I don’t have the strength or trust for it.
When you buy your first house, let me know what its like,
because my debts won’t let me save up for it.
When you have your first child, let me know what its like,
because I don’t have a spouse for it.
When you pass me on the street, with my cup and my sign,
I pray that you won’t ignore it.

2 thoughts on “Poverty Patterns

Leave a Reply

